WordPress SEO by Yoast (Not a Film Review)

yoastLately, I’ve been dabbling into some WordPress.org plugins and extensions, you know, the things that I can’t use on my free .com site. I’ve really been debating about where this site is headed (complete overhaul?) the past few weeks, and I’m thinking that upgrading my site will be my next move. I started this blog for a class, but it’s become more than that. I don’t update my blog for the class, I update because I enjoy the time I spend doing it.

Anyway.

This post is about a certain plugin for the .org version of WordPress that makes me green with envy. WordPress SEO by Yoast is a plugin that helps you refine and create a search engine presence. For instance, if people type the name of a movie that I have reviewed into Google (or Bing if you’re weird) then my blog (hopefully) will show up in your search results. The plugin also guides you to write content better suited for search engine optimization. So, why is this so important?

Uh, views, man.

The more hits my blog gets, the more inclined I am to write on a regular basis. It will help me build an audience. I want to be a part of a huge community that loves film and gets excited about camera work and shit. I don’t ever get to talk about film in my day-to-day, and this blog provides me with an outlet to do just that. If people ain’t clicking, what’s the point?

Refine. Optimize. Interact.

This plugin has proven to do just that (given by the fact that it is the most popular plugin on the whole dang site).

So, watch out for a new and improved RATM (see what I’m trying to do there?) Let me know what you think, if you want, or, whatever.

-RATM (okay, I’ll stop)

One response to “WordPress SEO by Yoast (Not a Film Review)

Leave a comment